Selling IT Wall of Shame: Isilon Systems

A few notes – and by the way, I think Isilon is doing interesting things, and am happy for any Seattle company that does well:

  • I’ll let you listen to get the money quote (“clustered storage… future”), but will point out simply that for large search engines depending (or planning to depend) on commodity hardware in a distributed environment, clustered storage isn’t the most obvious choice. Also, when the first page of Google results tells me you have >50% profit margins, my pocketbook screams.
  • I know telling me you’re going to educate me is typical sales-speak, but I still bristle.

(I’m posting even though I think I’m having an issue with the audio. If this doesn’t work, let me know and I’ll find some as-yet-unknown way to fix it.)

Leave a Reply

